About IPPR

The Institute for Public Policy Research (IPPR) was officially launched in April 2001 as a not-for-profit organisation with a mission to deliver independent, analytical, critical yet constructive research into social, political and economic issues that affect development in Namibia. The IPPR was established in the belief that free and critical debate informed by quality research promotes development.
The IPPR is independent of government, political parties, commercial interests, trade unions and other interest groups. The Institute is governed by a Board of Directors drawn from different areas of Namibian society. As of December 2013 the Board consisted of Monica Koep (Chairperson), Daniel Motinga, Graham Hopwood, Ndiitah Nghipondoka-Robiati, Michael Humavindu and Justin Ellis.
The work of the IPPR is divided into three core programmes:

* Democracy and Governance Research Programme
* Public Opinion Programme
* Public Policy Analysis Programme

The IPPR is mainly grant funded but also undertakes paid research on public policy issues provided independent conclusions can be reached and made available to the public. Over the past three years the IPPR's main donors have been the Embassy of Finland, the Kingdom of Norway, the European Union, Freedom House, the British High Commission, the Canadian Fund for Local Initiatives, the United Nations Development Programme, Afrobarometer, the Hanns Seidel Foundation, FES (Friedrich Ebert Stiftung) Media, IJG Securities, and the Netherlands Consulate. For further details of IPPR's donors please see the annual audited accounts and narrative reports available as downloads on this website.